MYT CR8TiV

A Place to Enhance and Inspire to be CR8TiV !

I ♥ Layering Stamp Sets !

on January 12, 2017

15970799_10157955572640307_1431630357_n

Happy day after Hump day, Everyone ! (ñ~ñ’) I actually started typing this on Hump Day but I didn’t notice the time as it hit midnight so no longer hump day. L0L But I hope your week is going by in positive ways. My week has been pretty busy with work that I haven’t had much time to CR8 but I try to find moments to squeeze some time in.

One Monday I think it was I received my monthly subscription stamp set from PaperWishes Stamps Only subscription kit which contained these Layering Dahlia stamp set. Last month it was the Layering Flowers stamp set. Both were gorgeous stamp sets !! Below is the Layering Dahlia stamp set which I received for the month of January ↓

imgg-php

How gorgeous is this stamp set ? I am slowly growing my layered stamp set collection and most of them are floral sets with I absolutely love !! Now here’s the Layering Flowers stamp set I got last month ↓
img-php
This stamp set is also gorgeous !! I highly recommend becoming a Stamps Only club member. The stamp set alone costs $17.99 but for the same price you can get a different stamp set each month and they never disappoint !! I am a forever subscriber to them !! Just letting you know I am not getting any rewards or royalties. This is pure personal opinion and experience based.

A few thing I highly recommend when using layered stamp sets is …

• 1.) A Stamping Tool whether a Misti or Stamp Perfect Tool: Having this tool makes aligning the layers so much easier and also if your first impression didn’t stamp well you can easily restamp again in the same position.

•2.) Multiple Inks in Light-Mid-Dark tones: You don’t really need to have multiple ink colors especially if you have a stamping tool like mentioned above. You can repeatedly stamp with the same ink color to make the tone darker than the previous. But it’s really nice to have multiple colors. If you’re on a tight budget … Michaels craft store brand CraftSmart ink pads are $2.99 each. I recommend using a coupon and buying the Colorbox Cat’s eye container that has 15 colors for $24.99 but with the coupon it can be as low as $15. Another good one is the Colorbox Paintbox set and the Petal Pack which gives you a good amount of color choices for the time being til you get a better set like the Altenew set.

•3.) Post-It note: The Post-It notes that have adhesive edge to edge is perfect to make masks for your stamping. If you’re using a floral layering stamp set you’d want to create a garden background or bouquet and the masking technique is one you’ll definitely need. (┬_┬) I’m not that good at fussy cutting so I’m hoping that someday I can afford the Brother Scan n’ Cut to help me cut out the stamp masks and stamps I don’t have dies for.

•4.) Baby Wipes: Baby wipes are an indispensable tool in your stamp arsenal ! I always buy a bundle pack of them. I like Huggies Simply Clean wipes but depending on the budget at that moment in time the $5 pack of Target’s Up & Up brand works well too. But you’ll definitely need them to wipe off the stamps, your hands, the stamping tool, etc.

Now that I own a few floral layering sets it makes me want to study flowers and what colors they come in. I’m a bit of a perfectionist and it would bother me to stamp a Fuchsia Poppy flower only to find out there aren’t such a thing in real life. It doesn’t really matter but I kinda like to keep the colors true to flowers you can see in real life. But overall I am really loving the Layered stamp sets and I hope to get some non-floral sets in the future like the Hero Arts Layered Goldfish stamp. They’re really fun and with a stamping tool really easy too !

Leave a Reply

