MYT CR8TiV

A Place to Enhance and Inspire to be CR8TiV !

The Stamps of Life – Stamp club review

on February 4, 2016

maxresdefault

Hi, CR8TiV Kittens ! We’re almost through the week and tomorrow is Friday !!! YAY !! Hope you have marvelous things planned for your weekend. So I believe I posted not to long ago that I have joined two(2) monthly stamp subscriptions. One is by Paper Wishes “Hot off the Press stampers club” and the Stamps of Life stamp club by Stephanie Barnard. I’ll create a review for the Paper Wishes stampers club some other time.

Today I wanted to focus on the Stamp of Life stamp club. I pay $12.83 a month … SUPER affordable and about the price of one stamp set ! I received my first stamp set in January which was a pretty sweet way to start off 2016 if you ask me. The stamp set is the Bandage stamp set. If you’re not a stamp club member you can still purchase these stamps separately from her online store @ http://www.thestampsoflife.com/shop/ClearStamps-AllStampSets/ She has so many goodies in her store and all at such affordable prices.

So below ↓ is picture and an example of what I had create with the stamp set and the stamp set itself.

33006

Isn’t that nurse kitty the cutest thing ever ? I kinda love the fact that I am originally a handrawn artist so if there’s a stamp image I do not have or there is no such stamp … I just create my own !! Plus I think the handrawn look gives your cards a more personal touch than everything being stamped images.

So let me tell you my personal review about the stamps … I LOVE THEM !! They stamp crisp clear images right off the packaging. Most … well, I should say some stamps take a bit of priming before they can stamp crisp clear images. By priming you either have to stamp them multiple times on scraps of paper so they’ll coat with ink properly or give them a gentle scuff with an emery board so they’ll ink up right.

The Stamps of Life stamps require none of that !! I had not used my bandages stamp set, yet. Thankfully I didn’t have anyone with boo boos or requiring a Get Well card. Although I could just make them ahead of time in case. But I gave my stamp set a go last night and that was stamped right off the packaging. I didn’t prime them or anything ! Just stuck onto my acrylic block and inked up with my Tuxedo Black Memento ink.

The Bandage stamp set was from last month “January”. This month for February, I got a Hippo stamp set. No offense, Stephanie. But I wasn’t very fond of the hippos. But that’s where you need to get a little CR8TiV. I was looking at this stamp set and wondering what I can do with Hippos and a CR8TiV light bulb went on. I thought I’d do a CR8TiV twist on the stamp set and to me they kinda looked like Bears than Hippos.

So below ↓ is the picture of the stamp set and my CR8TiV twist of turning the Hippos into Bears. I used a Darice Forest Embossing folder to add in the Forest trees. There’s no sentiment added to it, yet ! Until I find a use or need for this card I’ll add one on later. I first stamped the images and them embossed the card. I did my best to color it in to hide some of the embossed areas.

33005

I didn’t do any masking but rather what I did was just wipe off the bits of ink on the areas of the stamp I did not want such as the Hippos tail and toes. I think it turned out quite nice and gives you a great example of stretching your stamps and showing you that you don’t have to go with the theme of a specific stamp set. Mix and Match and be CR8TiV.

Overall if you’re a cardmaker I highly recommend joining the Stamps of Life stamp club. It’s SUPER affordable and every month will be like Christmas as you anticipate the *new* stamp set that is to arrive in your mailbox. If there’s ever a stamp set you don’t like place it into a box and create a CR8TiVity box for a youngster or friend who you think might be interested in cardmaking or papercrafting. They can also be donated to local hospitals or art classes. Go check out the Stamps of Life … I’m sure there’s something there that’ll tickle your fancy.

Leave a Reply

