MYT CR8TiV

A Place to Enhance and Inspire to be CR8TiV !

Doing with what you have … Making with what you do best

on June 11, 2015

Quotation-Haruki-Murakami-age-happy-Meetville-Quotes-58834Hello my CR8TiV Kats !! Lately I’ve been making handmade cards on a daily basis trying to create a good enough amount of inventory to sell in my Etsy shop *Etsy.com/Shop/MYTCR8TiV* There are soo… many things I would like to post up into the shop but lacking knowledge in secure packaging, money to ship it, and time to getting them shipped in a timely manner all hinder me from posting up anything besides handmade cards at the moment. So please forgive me for not having a large variety of items in stock as I get situated and learn to cover the areas I am lacking in.

Anyways I’ve blogged about this topic before about being content with what you have and stretching your means with what you have. Well, if you’re a cardmaker you know that Stamps are a crucial part of cardmaking and that many of the YouTube cardmaker like Kristina Werner, Jennifer Mcguire, Nichol Magouirk, etc. all have wonderful stamp sets that they use in their cards.

I could only wish to have their stamp collection but I use my artistic skills to create my own handrawn images which I used in my cards. You’ll see many of them on my Facebook page *Facebook.com/MYTCR8TiV* and a few are posted up in the Etsy shop. So now when it comes to handrawing you want the best and highest quality art supplies. I always made due with what I could afford like Crayola markers, Colored pencils, etc. I was lucky enough to get a 48 color Prismacolor set but I gave it away to my nephew.

Originally my thoughts about Prismacolor weren’t so great. I had used Crayola colored pencils for so long and I loved how they were under $6 at Walmart for 50 colors and loved them more than Prismacolor colored pencils. I know right you’re thinking … (o ⌂ O) Are you insane ? But I recently got myself a 12 color Prismacolor pencil set from Walmart for $15 and I’m a huge addict to color variety so I wasn’t happy about only have 12 colors. I really wanted the 150 color Prismacolor set but that’s still a bit out of my budget.

So again I made do with what I had. Now that I had the chance to get to know Prismacolor pencils a bit better. My previous thoughts of it has changed. Crayola colored pencils aren’t what they used to be. Before they were highly pigmented so the colors were bright and lay out nicely. Now the colors are more or less faded and less pigmented. So I started to do some research *mainly YouTube based* on blending with colored pencils and doing more with them. I found tricks I already knew where used to tweak the colors of colored pencils like the baby oil and rubbing alcohol trick I blogged about awhile back.

Now there’s a solvent called Gamsol ← Not the name of actual solvent but the brand … the solvent is called Odorless Mineral Spirits some call it Turpentine/Turpenoid. I have heard about Turpentine when my Sister was studying art in college and know what it does for paint but did not know you can use it for colored pencils. I haven’t been able to get some, yet but will blog about it when I do.

Currently I’m using my blender marker that came with my Promarker set on my Prismacolor pencils and it blends beautifully. Now what I found in that my 12 color set is actually just as great as a 150 color set. Now I know you’re thinking … (¬~¬) How can a 12 color compare to a 150 color set ? Well, simply bcuz Prismacolor pencils blend together beautifully !! If you learn your color wheel and what colors mixed together make what color like Red and Blue makes purple then you really don’t need any more colors than the 12 in the set.

I needed pink for the nose, cheeks, paw pads of my animals but my 12 color set doesn’t include a pink. I simply just lighting colored in red then went over with the white til I got pink. 😀 I did the same for the peachy pink I needed for a hamsters hands and feet. I mixed orange with white til I got a pale peach color. It made me giddy to see that I can make *new* colors by blending the 12 colors I already have. The 12 color set comes with Red, Orange, Yellow, Light Green, Green, Light Blue, Blue, Purple, Light Brown, Brown, Black and White. Now those aren’t the exact names of the colors as they each have fancy artists name like Ocean blue or Phthalo blue.

But it made me realize that if you have a high quality art supply you really don’t need to get all the colors. Just your primary colors and a white/black is all you need to mix and create your own colors you need. Just make do with what you got !!

Leave a Reply

