MYT CR8TiV

A Place to Enhance and Inspire to be CR8TiV !

What are you up to … Tuesday !

on April 7, 2015

uk_kumihimo_28jun11

Hello ! Lately life has been pulling me away from my CR8TiV desk but I’ll get back into the groove of things shortly. Some of you have been asking me what I’ve been up to lately … Well, I’ve moved on from cardmaking as I was up to my ankles in handmade cards with no one to gift them to or send them to.

Currently I’m into a craft called Kumihimo which is a Japanese braiding technique. It’s very simple to do and makes beautiful bracelets and necklaces. The braiding makes the cords very strong. I haven’t figured out how to use end caps to finish the bracelets but I have been experimenting with different threads and strings. Embroidery string makes friendship bracelet like Kumihimo, I’m currently using rattail cords to make thicker bracelets and necklaces.

It’s really a fun project and you should give it a try. I will post up pictures of what I’ve made so far once I figure out how to use end caps and finish the bracelets. I’m also working on a beaded one but I have to buy more seed beads. You apparently need 50 on each thread. (>~<)

Leave a Reply

