MYT CR8TiV

A Place to Enhance and Inspire to be CR8TiV !

on February 27, 2015

10681_1026877730659891_6731864782312822626_n

Happy Thursday my Crafty Cats ! We’re getting closer to the weekend. Do you have something CR8TiV in plan for the weekend ? (n_n) I have something CR8TiV going on everyday but today I wanted to share with you my thoughts on coloring and markers. The image you see posted above is a handrawn artwork of Briar Roses using a Google image as a reference guide. I drew them while my husband was at a doctors appointment. As always I did the rough sketch in pencil and then outlined using my Uniball Micro pen.

I have to recommend Uniball Micro pens if you are a crafter/artist on a budget. It costs are $12 for a dozen @ Staples where I usually big up my pack from but they last a really long time the one pack is pretty much all you’ll need. After I outlined I then went into to color the image to complete it. Many people have asked me if I used Copics to color them or Prismacolor markers. I can only wish I could afford those ! (=~=)

I actually used Crayola Paintbrush Pens *Shown Below*. They only come in 5 colors … Red, Yellow, Green, Blue, and Purple. They don’t exactly blend together to create other colors like if you were to take Red and Yellow to make orange. They aren’t exactly paintbrushes either. They’re pretty much just Crayola markers with a flexible paintbrush like tip. It would be nice if they had them as regular marker sets in all the colors a their Pipsqueak marker sets comes in.
54-6201_CorePaintBrushPensWashableNoDrip5Count_X

Now talking about colors I have learned that you don’t really need to have a VAST spectrum of colors. I have several Promarkers and I could never find the right dark pink or my sky blue wasn’t really dark enough for something I was coloring. I could go out and buy markers with the right colors but a trick I found was layering your colors. If your pink is not quite dark enough then just go over it again with the same marker to get a darker tone. On the Briar Rose drawing you’ll see that I colored the center of the roses a deep dark red. But you’ll see in the marker set pictured above there is no deep dark red. I achieved that deeper tone of red by just going over the first layer of red again and it darkened the tone.

So if you’re ever looking to create an Ombre effect *coloring going light to dark* and have a very limited amount of colors to chose from just go over with the same color. Now if you’re going to do this with say coloring pencils and not marker just apply a little more pressure to get a darker tone. So if you wanted a pink Ombre just lightly color with your pink then gradually apply more pressure to get darker tones. Creating art doesn’t have to be expensive ! We all have a long wish list of Art supplies we wish we could get … I know I do ! But make the most out of the things you have and you’ll realize you don’t really need all those other more expensive art supplies.

Leave a Reply

