MYT CR8TiV

A Place to Enhance and Inspire to be CR8TiV !

Oil Pastel and Baby Oil …

on January 7, 2015

 

PicsArt_142050494582220150105_160646-120150105_163800-1 Before : Just pure Oil Pastel                             After : Blended with Baby Oil

If you follow me on Facebook you’ll see I posted these pictures up of a comparison between just plain Oil Pastel and Oil Pastels blended with Baby Oil. I use Baby Oil gel which I bought from Target. I think I reviewed the difference in my previous post. Baby Oil the liquid kind tends to seap into the paper leaving oil blots and something making your paper transparent from the Baby oil but the gel version is a lot better. It also seems to leave a glossy sheen unlike the liquid version.

Baby Oil gel isn’t just for oil pastels they can be used in many other ways such as making Colored Pencil blend into watercolor/marker like. Using Baby Oil with Oil Pastel gives you a Oil paint almost Acrylic paint like result. I haven’t tried it with markers, yet but I’m unsure if it’ll help blend and spread the ink further or not. Normally marker blending is best to use Rubbing Alcohol to get it to work.

As for using Baby Oil with Colored Pencils not all colored pencil brands seems to blend well with Baby Oil. I tried with Crayola and it very faintly blended with the baby oil. RoseArts blended very nicely an example of that can be seen on my Facebook page *Facebook.com/MYTCR8TiV* in the photo where I drew a blue baby elephant. That artwork was drawn with a sky blue RoseArt coloring pencil then blended with Baby Oil.

Many websites suggest using stumps or blending sticks but you don’t need that. All you need in a cotton swab. Walgreens sells these cotton swabs with pointed tips if you’re lucky you can find Q-Tip Precision tip cotton swabs which have pointed tips. If you are unable to find either you can just rub a ordinary round cotton swab in your fingers to shape the tips to a point. I’ve also used a heavy duty paper towel taped around the tip of a sharpened pencil.

Give it a Try !! Share your art on my Facebook page. I’d love to see what you created with this Baby Oil trick. B3 B0LD … B3 iNSPiR3D … B3 CR8TiV … MYT CR8TiV™.

Leave a Reply

