MYT CR8TiV

A Place to Enhance and Inspire to be CR8TiV !

Farewell 2014 … Hello 2015.

on December 29, 2014

Untitled

Hello ! (ⁿ⌂ⁿ)/ *waves* Well, there’s only three(3) days left of the 2014 year. As every year for me there’s been ↑ups and ↓downs but I always manage to survive through it. How was your Christmas ? Did Santa bring you something really special ? Did you eat a BIG meal with all the holiday trimmings. In my family everyone is kinda on a restrictive diet due to health issues so we don’t feast as much as we used to.

Anyways I’m more of a giver than a receiver and don’t really care nor expect to receive anything from anyone. But it kinda saddens me that my family doesn’t seem to know me. I am all about Art and the #1 gift to give would be anything Art related from a watercolor set, polymer clay, or a gift card to a Arts and Crafts store. But oddly I was given a crock pot.

Either way I’m start 2015 off by trying expand my Artistic repetoire. I’m always up for learning *new* things and right now I’m trying out oil pastels which my husband got me for Christmas and watercolors. (∩u∩) My husband got me a basket of Art Supplies and in it was Oil Pastels, Gel Watercolor crayons, 64 colors Pipsqueak markers, Doodle Pad, Some Paper, and outline pens.

I’ve never worked with Oil Pastels before so it’s the 1st *new* art medium I am trying out for the *new* year. So far my only tips for working with oil pastels is … WEAR GLOVES !! This stuff gets on your hands very easily and colors stick to everything ! I put on gloves for smearing and blending the colors with the tool most oil pastel artists recommend which is your finger. I also kept a moist paper towel or baby wipe nearby to wipe off my finger when working with other colors as the previous color will stick to you and smudge into the *new* color.

I haven’t tried blending with any liquids yet but I heard mineral spirits, turpentine is used but if you can’t get those baby oil was said to work to blend colors a bit better than your finger. I’m going to try to see if rubbing alcohol would work. It works great in getting crayons, colored pencils, and markers to blend like watercolors. Baby oil works well too in blending the above items. I found that if you can find the Baby oil gel version it’s less messy and doesn’t bleed through your paper too much.

I tested using the liquidy baby oil and the gel version I got from Target. The liquidy baby oil bled through my paper and was runny. I was only dabbing with a cotton swab but it still felt like it soaked too much. But the gel version which is thick like honey didn’t bleed through my paper and stayed put. I was able to blend colors more nicely with the gel version.

Hopefully in 2015 things will be a bit better for me that I can post up actual video tutorials and even photo tutorials for you to see on here. Right now I don’t have a space or studio area to do such filming or photo shooting. Maybe 2015 will be a better year for me to get to do that for you guys.

Thank you for liking my Facebook page and hopefully 2015 will be more productive in pushing MYT CR8TiV towards becoming what I’d like it to be and possibly opening up an actual shop somewhere instead of taking requests by private messages. But 2014 has been a good one and I am looking forward to what 2015 has in store. Let’s all continue to be CR8TiV and make 2015 just as CR8TiV as 2014.

Leave a Reply

