MYT CR8TiV

A Place to Enhance and Inspire to be CR8TiV !

To Sell or Not To Sell ?? That is the Question. (T ~ T)

on December 1, 2014

ht_chinchilla_cart_kb_ss_131202_sshChristmas is slowly inching upon us and also the 2015 year. (>~<) I made a resolution in 2014 that I’d start my own MYT CR8TiV™ shop either on Etsy or eBay or ??? But I didn’t feel I was quite ready to do that. I’m still lost in how to securely ship my polymer clay creations without them breaking or getting damaged in the shipping process. Also shipping them out was a bit of an issue also. With my husband’s work schedule the only shipping option I had available to me was FedEx bcuz I have a FedEx Office location that’s open 24 hrs. I could ship items out on my husband’s days off which is weekend but another dilemma is places like the US Postal Office are closed on weekends.

A lot of my friends have suggested just to have my packages picked up either by the UPS or Mailman but my living situation is a bit difficult that even getting packages is difficult due to my Landlord living in the front house and their Bull Terrier “Dexter” occasionally being let out in the fenced off premises. I’ve asked them to postpone letting their dog out a few times as I’m expecting a package but either they have short-term memory or just don’t care and let the dog out again anyways. So having a UPS or Mailman pick up package is a no go. 😦

But then I thought maybe I’ll just put Prints up for sale ? Prints are easy to ship as I don’t need packing peanuts, bubble wrap, boxes, or any shipping supplies … just an envelope and a stamp. To mail out each handrawn print would cost the price of a postage stamp and I have a roll of 100 stamps so it’d be easy for me to ship out handrawn prints. So I started drawing Christmas themed prints on blank white index cards “Without lines” and thinking these can be used as postcards for someone or I can glue them onto folded cardstock to make them into greeting cards.

Now the dilemma is where to put them up for Sale. I watched a YouTube video about selling on eBay and Etsy their views about selling on Etsy didn’t sound too appealing but their views on selling on eBay didn’t sound too appealing either. What I really want is to sell in my own private website or shop but this is currently my website as I don’t exactly have the funds to create an actual website at the moment. I’m hoping to get a shop started so I can start making some $$$ to push MYT CR8TiV™ forward to becoming what I want it to become. Once I have the $$$ I plan to start selling many things from Polymer Clay critters/creations, Art Prints, Paintings, Amateur Photography shots, Upcycled Art, and many other things. But in order to do this it requires principle $$$ to start.

I currently sell items via personal messaging and emails. You email me or send me a personal message on my Facebook page regarding a custom item or item I have available that you’re interested in and we exchange information for shipping. Payment is then made by PayPal. I have many several sales this way successfully using this method. But some seems weary or untrusting of this method and shy away. 😦

Anyways I am planning to sell Christmas themed Prints for about $6 each or 2 for $10 soon as I get enough Christmas prints drawn. Each one is handrawn and colored so it takes time to create enough to be able to sell. I’m aiming at trying to create at least 50 handrawn prints to try to sell before Christmas but it’s very difficult and time consuming to do that many each being a different design. But once they are finished they will be posted on my MYT CR8TiV™ Facebook page (Facebook.com/MYTCR8TiV) for viewing and for buying. Just send me a private message if you are interested in buying one and I will offer it to transform into a Postcard for an additional $2 or to make it into a greeting card for also an additional $2. Does that price seem reasonable ??

Hopefully my attempt to raise funds toward pushing MYT CR8TiV™ forward to becoming something more than a blog site and Facebook page will come to pass.

Leave a Reply

