MYT CR8TiV

A Place to Enhance and Inspire to be CR8TiV !

Promarkers .vs. Prismacolor : Marker comparison

on July 19, 2014

prismacolor-marker-single-bHappy Friday !! The wonderful people at Prismacolor sent me a sample of their markers so I can do a comparison for you. Of course the #1 difference between the two markers is Price ! Promarkers are alot more affordable than Prismacolor markers. Equally work beautifully. I’m going to start by writing about Promarkers.

So Promarkers are made by LetraSet and they come in a vast varieties of colors. The best value in my opinion is buying the 12 color Sets. There’s a Set 1 and Set 2. If you purchase both set 1 & 2 you will have 24 colors to work with and Set 2 seems to be the most popular that is often goes OUT OF STOCK quickly.

In the Set 1 are the following colors : Henna ~ Ruby ~ Bright Orange ~ Canary ~ Lime Green ~ Forest Green ~ Sky Blue ~ Indigo Blue ~ Amethyst ~ Rose Pink ~ Cool Gray ~ Black and a Colorless Blender pen.

In Set 2 are the following colors : Walnut ~ Umber ~ Soft Peach ~ Primrose ~ Lemon ~ Artic Blue ~ Cobalt Blue ~ Fuschia Pink ~ Cerise ~ Pale Pink ~ Almond ~ Sun Kissed Pink and a Colorless Blender pen.

Promakers color layout is very smooth and what I mean by color layout is when you color with them you will not see streaking like you would with Crayola markers or Roseart. The only trouble I have had with Promarkers is that they were dried out. My 1st set I bought was the Promarker set 1 and the Indigo Blue marker was dried out. I had to exchange the pack hoping the 2nd one didn’t have any dried out markers. So be sure to check each marker in your packs.

Recently Promarkers had a sale on their 2013 Seasonal 24 color marker set and to my disappointment I found another dried up marker and one that was saturated in ink that it was dripping out the tip. Promarkers were nice enough to send me replacements. Other than the fact that I kept finding dried out markers they color very smoothly and blend well. They do tend to bleed through the paper so be sure that you use a thick paper.

Now with Prismacolor markers they sent me a Carmine Red, Crimson Red, and Tan. The Tan marker had a brush tip and Fine tip. The Carmine Red and Crimson Red has a Chisel tip and Fine tip. The first thing I noticed when I tested these sample markers out was the strong nail polish like smell. I definitely would advise using these markers in a well ventilated room as they are pretty strong smelling markers.

The color layout was flawless similar to the Promarkers. I do like the feel of the marker in your hand it feels comfortable to hold where as the Promarker kinda leaves your hands tired after awhile. I can’t really tell you if there’s any BIG differences between the two markers beside price but I think if you have the money I would go with both brands of markers. Colors vary with both brands so colors that Promarkers don’t have Prismacolor probably does and vice versa. Promarkers offer 148 colors to chose from and Prismacolor has 200. I would be satisfied for a very long time if I had 348 colors to chose from.

Overall I think if you can afford them get Prismacolor markers but if you’re on a budget Promarkers are the next best thing. My opinions about the Prismacolor markers is different than the Prismacolor Colored Pencils. I actually like the colored markers just wish I could afford a set. 😛

2 responses to “Promarkers .vs. Prismacolor : Marker comparison

  1. Lindsey says:

    Are they suitable for use together?

    • MYT CR8TiV says:

      Yes, you can use them together. I have used Prismacolor brush tip marker with Promarkers. They don’t bleed or swirl into odd colors. Both work just fine together. Thank you for viewing my blog !

Leave a Reply

