MYT CR8TiV

A Place to Enhance and Inspire to be CR8TiV !

The importance of Color Gradients …

on May 23, 2014

385521

Hello … Happy Friday !! (-__-) I really wish I could do more to show you guys things better that just what’s written here. But I don’t exactly have a Art studio space or any space that is appropriate for filming or live tutorials so I apologize that I can’t show you exact examples or tutorials of what I’m talking about most of the time on here. But I promise in the future when things get better in my personal life that I will create a space where I can do YouTube tutorials and show better examples to go with the postings.

But anyways today I’m gonna talk about color gradients. Some might better know them as Ombre where a color goes from a dark to lightest gradient. Well, not too many people probably realize just how important a Ombre color gradient is in the art world. It’s probably just as important as knowing your primary colors in the painting world. Ombre color gradients are used in many areas of art. When coloring a tree drawing you are using a Green Ombre color gradient where you use Dark green, Green, Yellow-Green, Light Green, Pastel Green, and sometimes a mix of yellow, orange, and brown to illustrate the colors in a lush green tree.

Another example would be when coloring hair … I’m sure many of you have viewed YouTube videos of Manga/Anime hair and you’ll see it’s not just straight black or yellow or brown … it is a Ombre or color gradient of a Dark to Light shade. You’d start off with the lightest color then blend in darker as you go. Skin tone is just the same … You go from lightest to dark and darker to shadow in areas. This picture below that I made might be a good example of that …

11111

I used a ombre color gradient for the hair. I started with a tan/beige color then brown then darker brown at the tips. The Sun is also in a gradient. I used peach then orange and red orange to give a blended color look. The skin tone on her arms are the same. I started with a light off-white color “Sand” then Peach then Salmon pink to give shade and color. I hope someday I can provide tutorials to give you better live examples but for now I’m sure you get what I’m talking about. No only do color gradients “Ombres” blend together well they can often create very beautiful images like a sunset or widened rainbow spectrum.

Try and experiment using Ombre gradients in your artwork whether it’s painting, colored pencils, or drawings. B3 CR8TiV … And please feel free to share your art on my Facebook page. I’d love to see your CR8TiV creations as well !! Have a wonderful Three(3) Day weekend for those who are off on Memorial day !!

Leave a Reply

