MYT CR8TiV

A Place to Enhance and Inspire to be CR8TiV !

Poor Man’s bread AKA Paratha Flatbread …

on August 13, 2013

DSCN4392

Hello and Happy Tuesday, Everybody ! Today I thought I’d share with you a CR8TiV Kitchen experiment that in turn ended up being an actual recipe. I was hungry and didn’t have much food around. So I was wondering what you can make using just Flour and Water. I’ve made odd bread like things before using flour and water only. But here’s a recipe I found that turned out to be very delicious !!

It’s called Paratha Flatbread and it’s an Indian flatbread kinda like Naan bread. I call it the Poor man’s bread. All that is required to make this is Flour, Water, and Oil. So here’s how you make the dough …

[] 2 cups Flour

[] Water *No specific amount just add water til the right doughy consistency*

[] 1 cup of oil *I thought that’s alot of oil so instead I just used my Misto oil mister to lightly coat the pan than drowning the dough in oil*

[] Salt to taste

[] Herbs/Seasoning *Optional*

So you mix the 2 cups of Flour, Water, Salt to taste, and Two(2) Tablespoons of oil til you get a nice smooth dough. You’ll need additional flour to knead and roll out the dough into flat tortilla like rounds. But it’s not really needed. (=_=”) I only had exactly 2 cups of flour available so I did not have any additional flour to roll out the dough or knead it. The two(2) tablespoons of oil helps keep the dough from being too sticky so I didn’t have too much of an issue rolling the dough into a ball using two spoons.

If you’re going to add any seasonings or herbs add them into the dough now and give it a good mix to make sure the herbs get mixed well. I added some minced garlic and basil from my windowsill garden into the dough and sprinkled some Garlic Parsley Salt too.

It’s supposed to be a fried flatbread which is what the 1 cup of oil is for but I felt that’s too much oil. If you have a Misto oil mister like I do just spray a light coat of oil into your pan. If you don’t have a misto mister you can just buy a can of non-stick spray like Crisco or PAM and spray the pan after each use. You can also just have a bowl of oil and a wad of paper towel and brush your pan with it each time.

Heat your pan up and lightly coat your pan with oil. If you had the extra flour to roll the dough into golf ball sized balls then roll it flat to about a ¼ inch thick and place into the pan. If you’re like me and didn’t have enough flour to knead and roll the dough into balls … take your spoonful of dough and drop it into the pan. Let one side cook then flip it over to then press flat with your spatula. You’ll still get it to a round shape and ¼” inch thickness.

Fry in your pan til both sides are golden brown. Add more oil when you see your pan starting to get dry. I’m sure you can also grill this bread on a griddle or grill pan. After each one respray/oil the pan each time to make sure it stays well oiled and not dry. The oil is what cooks the dough and keeps it from sticking in the pan. Let them cool on a plate with paper towels to absorb some of the oil.

I am sure with this dough you can make Pizza. Just roll it out into the pizza size of your choice and bake in the oven on a Pizza stone or even just put it on a cookie sheet and grill it on a BBQ grill. Unsure what temperature it would go into if oven baking but probably maybe a 250° degree oven.

Whatever way you decide to cook it it’s a very delicious flatbread that is crispy on the outside but chewy on the inside. I am sure you can be very CR8TiV with it and make a dessert flatbread by adding in some shredded coconut and sprinkle in Cinnamon and Sugar instead of salt. Maybe roll a hotdog in this dough and bake. The bread dough is very simple and versatile ! (n_n) Mmm … imagine trying to make it into a Calzone by putting cheese, pepperoni, and bacon then rolling it over.

Next time I make it I’ll oven bake it so I can give you what degree is best if you were going to oven bake this but like I said my guess is probably 250° degrees for like 10-15 minutes. This dough cooks very fast and is very easy to make so try it and share with me what you think of this easy Water + Flour dough recipe.

Leave a Reply

