MYT CR8TiV

A Place to Enhance and Inspire to be CR8TiV !

MYT CR8TiV™ Crafting Hiatus …

on July 16, 2013

funny-expensive-stuff-high-prices-poor

Hello, Everyone ! Well, certain things in my Life has taken a sad turn. After getting married in September 2011 my SSI *Disability income* has gotten revoked. Being SSI was my only source of income finances have become extra tight. I try my best to satisfy my crafting urges but expanding my crafting skills has come to sorta a halt. Although I want to dabble with Resin and Needle-Felting I have no money to do so.

Crafting isn’t cheap and constantly buying supplies can become pricey in the end. But thankfully we have store coupons like Jo-Ann’s occasional 50% off coupons and Michael’s 40% off coupons which can be used towards the purchase of some craft supplies. But after losing my only source of income I never realized how expensive some craft items are. Not having the money to buy them puts things into a whole new perspective. But you learn to cut corners and make sacrifices to make things work out in the end.

I used to buy the Sculpey III sampler packs that are like $30 and didn’t think much of it. But now I see the pack and think … (O~o) Jeebus that’s expensive and just go with buying a single pack of white which I can just paint instead of buying colors. I now appreciate stores like Walmart for my Craft supplies bcuz there’s no other store you can buy bottles of FolkArt Acrylic paints for like .57¢ to .97¢ each. I generally stick to buying the Primary colors in larger bottle sizes so that I can mix the colors to the color I am searching for with the help of my color mixing wheel.

I started searching for alternative craft items like paintbrushes … I found you can just go to like the .99¢ store to a buy makeup brush set and use them as paintbrushes. I try to think of alternatives for my craft supplies now. Of course some things cannot be substituted like resin or polymer clay. But I am finding myself upcycling most of the things I used to just trash. Small plastic sauce cups from a restaurant like the El Pollo Loco restaurant I bring home a cup or two to use for my craft containers. I no longer throw away my used cough syrup measurement cups. I wash them and use them to measure out paint and mix colors in them.

I often do wish I could go back to the good old days when I could easily just walk into a craft store buy what I need and leave with an eager smile on my face. Now when I do save up a few bucks I spend hours in the craft store trying to decide which I wanna buy vs what I can afford. But luckily my craft stash has grown extensively to keep my crafting urges satisfied for awhile. My only problem is I’ve become a craft hoarder. I have plenty in my stash but I still want more in a different color, pattern, design, or craft project.

But crafting doesn’t have to be an expensive hobby. With CR8TiVity you can do alot of things using things you’d find in a recycle bin or just everyday items that you come across and use. My husband now saves alot of jars and stuff bcuz he knows I will find a use for them and let’s me decide if they are usable or tossed out.

All I can say is I hope things over time get better for me and I can return to pursuing the MYT CR8TiV™ name to become known, sell the things I make, and be able to financially become stable via my craft projects like some crafters that I envy.

Leave a Reply

