MYT CR8TiV

A Place to Enhance and Inspire to be CR8TiV !

Polymer Clay 101

on March 19, 2013

4682199732_c801efa879_z

Hello CR8TiV people !! Today I thought I’d share with you things I’ve learned about Polymer Clays and also share some tips as well. Polymer Clay crafting is really getting popular and many people are now starting to become clay sculptors and it seems to stay withing making miniatures like foods, charms of favorite characters, and maybe Chibi characters. Making Kawaii “Cute” things out of Polymer Clay seems to be the majority.

I make whatever is inspiring me at the moment from a Polymer clay flower or making a special gift for someone. Now from my experience I tend to like Sculpey III over the other brands like Premo, Fimo, etc. The #1 question that Polymer clay beginners tend to ask is what’s the difference between all these clay. Well, I’ve worked with Fimo Soft and as the name states it tends to bake into a soft pliable state. It doesn’t fully get hard like Sculpey III does. I made a mouse figurine with Fimo soft and the ears were soft and bendy. It felt like the whole entire figurine was just going to fall apart bcuz it wasn’t fully hard.

Fimo Soft also takes longer to bake unlike Sculpey III which takes about 10-15 minutes to back @ 275 degrees where as Fimo Soft is baked at a low temp of 230 degrees for about 30 minutes MAX. It also advises you NOT to bake @ any temp higher than 230. For a clay that takes twice as much time as Sculpey III and does not bake up completely hard to me it’s a clay you’d wanna use when you’re trying to make something that is going to need to remain soft and pliable but if you want something that’ll bake hard like plastic then you’ll wanna use Sculpey III.

Now to talk about tools and what are the MUST-HAVEs and what are the tools you can DIY ….

Your house is filled with items that can be used as a clay tool whether for Polymer Clay, Air Dry-Clay, etc. But be sure that you separate the items from being used again elsewhere for example don’t take a fork … use it for Polymer clay then use it to eat your spaghetti. Even if you wash it the residue of the Polymer clay can remain on the fork so just keep it separate as a clay use only. To continue talking about the many tools in your house that you can use there’s things like a paper clip *Makes great air holes*, an old pen *Great for writing in clay*, a butter knife works to divide clay into pieces, a set of measuring spoons work great to measure out perfect portions of clay balls, etc. B3 CR8TiV with the things around your house ! (n_n)

Now let’s discuss the MUST-HAVEs for Polymer Clay or any clay use ….

#1 item is the Polyblade it’s a thin metal blade that is used to slice clay into even slices and to make clean cuts into clay. I have tried everything to replace buying a Polyblade from using a Steak Knife, Razor Blades, Xacto Knife, a blade made out of a soda can, etc. Of course these replacements do work but they don’t exactly give you the clean cut that the Polyblade can give you. I haven’t yet gotten to purchasing a Polyblade as I’m short on money but it is one of the things on my Birthday Wish List this year.

#2 item that is a MUST-HAVE is a Polymer Clay Pasta Machine. One normally costs under $30-40 dollars and comes in many different brands from Darice, Sculpey, AMACO, etc. I place this as a MUST-HAVE bcuz with a Pasta machine you can make even sheets of clay for making things such as clay canes or whenever you need clay to be a even thickness. Also you can make rainbow colored clays with a Pasta Machine using the Skinner Blend techniques. You can make clays in various shade of the color pallet … for example you can make a sheet of Red clay mixed with white to make a sheet of clay that goes from Red to Pale Rose Pink to Bubble Gum Pink to a Light Pink to White at the bottom. You can achieve this with a roller like a rolling pin or a round jar but it’s difficult to get a even thickness and clean mix.

#3 item is the Roller/Rolling pin. They do sell special rolling pins for Clay such as the Acrylic rollers, Plastic rollers, etc. But really anything round and smooth can serve as a roller from a beer bottle to a empty jar of peanut butter. You really don’t have to go buy those rolling pins made especially for clay sold at the craft store ! I mean you can if you want to but it’s really not necessary. I actually went to my local hardware store and bought a smooth 6″ metal pipe for plumbing for about $2 which works just as well. One that I think is quite useful is to get a Acrylic Brayer which isn’t exactly for clay but it’s quite useful for rolling out clay and the Brayer is usually used for Scrapbooking so it’s made not to stick and can easily be cleaned with a wipe of a damp cloth. I have this white plastic roller than came with a clay tool set and it was trash after one use. The color of the Polymer clay stained the white plastic and when I was rolling out a white piece of clay the color that had stained onto the plastic came off ruining a good piece of white clay. Clear Acrylic rollers/brayers seem to prevent that from happening.

#4 my next item isn’t exactly a MUST-HAVE but another useful item to have when working with Polymer clay and that is either a box of disposable gloves, baby wipes, or a damp wet towel. Working with Polymer clay then switching to a different color you’ll notice you’re hands are stained the color of the previous clay you were working with and unless you wash your hands the next color you work with will have hints of that color weaved in which isn’t something you want to happen. Most stores like Target or Warehouse store such as Costco, Smart and Final, etc. sell boxes of 50-100 gloves. if you’re sensitive to Latex I’d get a Latex free glove and sometimes the gloves are coated with a powder to help them slip on easier … that powder can sometimes irritate your skin as your hands do tend to sweat inside them. Unless you like sweaty hands I find the option of having a box of baby wipes nearby alot better. Just take a wipe and clean off your hands thoroughly before you start working with clay of another color. You’d be surprised at how the white baby wipe quickly turns into the color of your previous clay. Another eco tip is don’t throw out those baby wipes. I found some can be washed and reused just not to wipe a babies bum but take your used baby wipe and wash them with soap and water. It’ll rinse off the color that was dirtied from use, let them dry, and use a spray bottle to mist them moist again when you’re working on another clay project. But if the thought of constantly buying packs of baby wipes seems a bit outta your budget you can just use a damp towel and wipe your hands every now and then before working with another clay color. Trust me this tip is worth it.

#5 This next tip is more or less a MUST-HAVE for me but it’s purely optional and that is … MUSIC !! I tend to focus better when I have music on either via a Speaker player like my Magic Bullet or headphones. My choice of music tends to be meditation music like Zen music. I highly recommend you try out a artist by the name of KARUNESH. He is my #1 favorite and whether in the car, at home, on the computer, working on a CR8TiV project, or just relaxing at home … Karunesh will make sure you are at the most utter peace and serenity. Whenever I got Karunesh playing there’s no stress in the world that can drag me down. Music helps inspire you and helps you focus better in my opinion.

#6 Tip #6 is YouTube !! You can learn so many things from YouTube whether it’s how to speak another language, how to cook a shepherds pie, YouTube is the *NEW* Virtual teacher and you can practically find a video on anything and everything there. But for a crafter it’s your #1 friend in finding tutorials for a certain craft you wanna try out or finding some inspiration for your next craft project.

Here are a few YouTube channels that I recommend you check out if you’re going into Polymer Clay …

TheBroodingTom : Awesome clay sculptor ! = Link: http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCgan2vsUmCqmMKs8raRbHBA

GentlemanBunny : Has cute clay tutorials ! = Link: http://www.youtube.com/feed/UCBp3eZSJYx2IE8UEcKjU5OA

IHaveAStrawberry : Cute clay tutorials !  = Link: http://www.youtube.com/feed/UCNthGnLtY4zrSO_TmNLTRzg

PattyClayFlowers : Realistic clay flowers ! = Link : http://www.youtube.com/feed/UCjjwHxPHAcBIHyBDmfdSUCg

ClaygroundUK : Tutorials on clay canes ! = Link : http://www.youtube.com/feed/UC65-Pi11H_tuQlB6akUGyWg

Well, those are the YouTube channels that I recommend you check out and my Tips and what not on Polymer clay. I have more to share but I’ll share them some other time. Umm … (T_T) I gotta cut this short *Like it’s really that short. LOL* but it’s past 1am and I’m pretty tuckered out. Guess I’ll share some more CR8TiV tips and stuff again in the future. Hope you find anything I posted today useful and you’ll share this with anyone thinking about trying out Polymer clay or you are a beginner. I hope to someday in the future create some YouTube tutorials of my own for you guys but not at the moment. I need to develop a good amount of fan base first. So share my site with all your friends and help me gain more followers and fans to MYT CR8TiV. Until next time … B3 B0LD, B3 iNSPiR3D, B3 MYT CR8TiV !! ( _ _ ) …zZzZzZzZ Good Night and Sweet Dreams ! ❤ ~ MYT CR8TiV

Leave a Reply

