MYT CR8TiV

A Place to Enhance and Inspire to be CR8TiV !

Translucent Liquid Sculpey .vs. Bake and Bond Liquid Sculpey

on April 30, 2012

 

(n_n)/ Hi, all to all you CR8TiV people out there in Cyber world ! Happy Monday !! Today I’d like to explain to you two different types of Liquid Sculpey for those of you who use Polymer Clays or Air-Dry Clay. (=_=”) I accidentally purchased the Bake and Bond Liquid Sculpey thinking it was the Translucent Liquid Sculpey (TLS).

The Bake and Bond is a bit more Elmers glue like in consistency. Very thick and actually hard to squeeze outta the bottle. It is mainly used to bond pieces to clay like say you made a clay bird and during baking/drying his beak broke off … well, the bake and bond can reattach that by just putting a dab and re-baking for a minute. It’ll be good as new.

Now with the Translucent Liquid Sculpey (TLS) most people use it as a glaze or icing for clay cupcakes, pancakes, syrups, etc. It gives it a slight sheen and can be colored by mixing in a little chalk or powdered pigment. I was wanting to buy this one but accidentally grabbed the Bake and Bond.

I bought mine from Jo-Anns and to know the different the Translucent Liquid Sculpey is about $9.99 where as the Bake and Bond was $4.99.I noticed that other stores like Michael’s also sells the Translucent Liquid Sculpey for a few dollars more than the Bake and Bond so just keep in mind the one that’s higher priced is most likely the Translucent Liquid Sculpey (TLS).

Here’s a side by side I found on the internet …

Translucent Liquid Sculpey (TLS) : Can be mixed with chunks of clay to create a paste for faux frosting and other miniature food
effects. Stir in soft pastel powder or inks to create syrups.

Use to create image transfers from magazines, photocopies, colored pencil drawings and
stamping inks. To make a bakeable painting and surface medium, add oil paints. Add dry
pigments to create glazes and color washes.

Bake and Bond Liquid Sculpey : Provides a very strong clay-to-clay adhesive for design solutions. Allows uncured clay pieces to
join completely without the traditionally necessary pressure which flattens or distorts shapes.
Use as a glue to join baked or unbaked clay, then bake according to the clay instructions. Can
also be used to coat paper mache, wood or canvas surfaces to cover with clay.

Another tip for you Polymer Clay/Clay crafters if you want a glossy shine to your clay buy Sculpey Gloss Glaze . There’s also a Sculpey Satin Glaze which doesn’t give that much of a glossy shine but a light glaze. Both dry clear and gives your clay product that extra touch. DO NOT use Clear Nail Polish on Polymer Clay. It will create a chemical reaction or something where the clear nail polish will leave your clay craft with a forever sticky finish that will attract dust, finger prints, etc. Hope these product insight helps wit your clay crafting. (n_n) Remember B3 iNSPiRED … B3 B0LD … B3 MYT CR8TiV !! Happy Crafting !!

11 responses to “Translucent Liquid Sculpey .vs. Bake and Bond Liquid Sculpey

  1. deren says:

    Hello Just want to add that TLS is always sold out so I decided to try out Bake and Bond to make a frosting and it actually came out rather well, although it did come out thick so it was a bit difficult to work with. It of course had slightly different results and I am inexperienced wtih working with sculpey to begin with XD But basically what i did was mix clay with the bake and bond to get the color. You can most likely make the frosting easier to mix and softer by using softener…I don’t know much about it though XD When I was looking up the differences it seems Bake and bond isn’t much different other than consistency. and that it was put out by studio by sculpey rather than the regular line…?

    • MYT CR8TiV says:

      Thank you for visiting/reading my Blog ! Yes, I do believe that TLS and Bake and Bond aren’t really that different. But I TLS is translucent and Bake and Bond kinda stays white in color. Try scraping in a little chalk pastel into the Bake and Bond instead of mixing in a bit of clay the color blends in more quicker and smoother than mixing in clay bits. I do hope you continue to experiment and work with Polymer clay ! I can’t get enough of working with Polymer clay. I used to use Crayola Air-Dry clay but it’s very crumbly when dry and very fragile. Pieces like arms, legs, tails, ears, etc. always break off and easily crumble apart. I love how Polymer clay is solid and not crumbly at all. Stay CR8TiV !! (‘u^)

  2. Gillian Wiseman says:

    I believe Bake and Bond has PVA glue (like Aileen’s Tacky Glue) added to it. It is not “just” clay… it has a sticky gluing characteristic, and is much less translucent. You can’t use it as a clear glaze, though I’m sure for adding color and other opaque uses it is fine.

    Personally, I prefer Kato liquid clay and Kato polypaste (both available online from Prairiecraft and other stores). Kato liquid is clearer, and can be heat-treated to be as clear as glass; polypaste is thick, like toothpaste or vaseline and works very well to stick things together before baking.

    • MYT CR8TiV says:

      Bake and Bond also from my experience is a useless product. It says you can use to it glue already baked pieces of clay in cases like a baked piece broke or you needed to add one more thing to the finished product. I have attempted to add-on to a already baked product by adding a tiny smear of Bake and Bond to adhere it … Wasted my entire finished product bcuz like you said the Bake and Bond does not dry clear so the glue excess that oozed out a little was visible ruining the entire finished product and you can tell something was glued on to it. I found that polymer clay will adhere fine to a baked product without any additional glues or adhesives so maybe this product might be good to use as icing/frosting for polymer clay cakes but as far as using it for what’s it’s really for … Good Luck with that. Maybe if you used a cotton swab or brush and painted a light coat it might work and not be visible when finished but a light coat may not adhere so well if you’re trying to reattach something like a arm or a head.

  3. Hi,
    What should I use to bond a stone to the clay? Thank you 🙂

    • MYT CR8TiV says:

      Many crafters use e6000 glue to bond things to clay but the smell of the e6000 is horrible. A general Heavy-Duty Super Glue works well for me. Use a gel version as it’s thicker or won’t be runny. You can also just use a High temp Hot Glue gun. I have the Adtech Dual-Temp cordless Hot glue gun which works like magic for alot of my gluing needs. But for stone I’d suggest either the e6000 or Super Glue. If you decide to use the e6000 glue make sure you turn on a fan or work in a well ventilated area.

  4. I wish that I found this post a few days ago. I recently made the mistake of buying 2 bottles of bake and bond thinking that it would work as a glaze too. As you can imagine, it didn’t. I could have bought 1 bottle of each product. Well, I know that eventually I’ll end up using both bottles. Live and learn, right? Thanks for this great post. It cleared up a lot for me.

    • MYT CR8TiV says:

      Ya, I was a bit disappointed when I bought the Bake & Bond thinking it was TLS *Translucent Liquid Sculpey* but I also kept the bottle in case and I’m glad I did. As I got more skilled and advanced with Polymer Clay making I found uses for my Bake & Bond that I am now glad that I had it. SculpeyIII clay tend to bake off very brittle and delicate !! Pieces break off using SculpeyIII clay easily and sometimes I was able to salvage the broken off piece by using the Bake & Bond to glue the piece back on and bake it to set. I also now use Bake & Bond to secure unbaked pieces on before I bake them to ensure they don’t break off later. I’ve had great success with using that technique and I’ve also had success with using it to add to my already baked piece like for example say I forgot to add the eyes onto a clay creation or a flower I forgot to add on. I can add a dab of Bake & Bond then give it a quick re-bake and the forgotten item is fixed on.

      I hope my reply message isn’t too long ! Please, feel free to subscribe to my blog and keep in touch !! (n_n) I’m always up for doing collaboration work or artist trades/swaps with other artists from around the globe. Have a great week !!

  5. Jennifer says:

    So, In your opinion, would TLS bond two pieces of unbaked polymer clay without having to push the pieces together. In other words, could I put some TLS on one piece and just set the other piece on top then bake? Thanks for your help, Jennifer

    • MYT CR8TiV says:

      If you are going to attach two pieces of unbaked/baked clay pieces together I would highly suggest you use the Bake and Bond as that is what it is made for. TLS is more for making glaze for Polymer clay cakes or donuts but it can also be used as a glue to bond pieces together but bake and bond is more made for gluing pieces of clay together so I’d use that.

Leave a Reply

